A Study In Overconfidence

Are we looking at a failure of absolute precision or a triumph of proximal symmetry?

image

Yes, that’s my way of big-wording my way around feeling bad about the mess I made. 

Sewing is a mess most of the time, but you can make plenty of lemonade even if the sewing lemons were of your own making. Or just don’t forget to practice what every seamstress tries to preach:
Measure twice, cut once!

As far as messes can be defined, this one was almost an Amateur Hour doozy:

I didn’t press my fabric or double check it was on grain = the crooked alignment  pictured above.

I paid more attention to curating my Sheila E Pandora station than I did to my layout of pattern pieces on the fabric = I cut two left fronts instead of a right and a left.

image

I didn’t check my “right side up” markings after I realized my mistake = I sewed my silk chiffon trim onto the wrong side of the fabric.

image

image

I didn’t practice my seams on a scrap of fabric first = the bias cut trim is sewn on like Frankenstein’s tailor got a hold of my machine.

image

To my credit, I did do a few things right:

I used transparent pattern paper to draft the project = I was able to see the pattern through the paper to work out the side to side matching I wanted.

image

I used tape and Sharpie marker to transfer the pattern notches to the lace fabric = I could see what I was doing without having chalk marks brush off or not recognize cut notches.

image

I used the fabric selvage to reinforce the major seams of the garment = the seams are strong and camouflage with the fabric.

image

image

I made a muslin first to get the fit I wanted = I have this cute wrap blouse I can wear 4 ways!

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

