Broadcasting Live From Mood Fabrics on 37th street

I really used to despise Mood Fabrics when I lived here. Before they acclimated to their success and notoriety as the garment center’s most fashion forward outlet  for designer fabrics from sponsoring Project Runway, it became such a nightmare to go there. You knew they would have exactly what you wanted (at a price) but they were staffed by a whole army of pretensious, unhelpful art school dickheads. Ten years ago I went in for the first time and my head exploded for all the best reasons, but until my most recent trips back, my head has exploded for all the wrong reasons.  I have to admit my experience today was actually quite pleasant and more than a little inspiring!  So here are a few highlights…..

image

My friend Riva, you’re on my mind. I think I need to make my Summertime Poolside Catftan magic happen in this giant bug print.  Your pineapple earrings will go with!

image

The smell of leather, suede and shearling reminds me of my time at RL when I had to pull skins for presentations…..dare I say Mood rivals the old archive these days?

image

How about a quirky but sexy secretary blouse in silk chiffon printed to look like tweed?

Because it’s never too early or too late to start thinking about tweed and wool for Fall…..

image

image

Lustrous with silk or even a little lurex suprise on the back side….

image

But don’t overlook heavenly wool-silk double weave in a pure and bright celestial blue since it’s still Spring!

image

Some sweet, shadowy birds printed on georgette…..needs to be a soft and romantic dress…yards and yards to swirl softly in an early Summer breeze:

image

Maybe a smart menswear inspired shirt dress in this lovely textured yarn dyed silk, with delicate satin beams in the stripes:

image

This is what made my fabric geek heart beat fast – ultraviolet wool/cashmere/silk in a jaquard panel design shot through with deep blue lurex….you have to buy the entire run of the pattern repeat, not by the yard, even though it’s priced by the yard. I can enable almost any fabric purchase in the state this put me when I saw it, but even I was daunted by the price with a panel repeat of over 3 yards when the guy unrolled it for me.

image

It’s probably for the best….sometimes I get sucked in just by the uniqueness or technical sophistication of a fabric,  even though I hardly know what it could become.

Speaking of, though I should probably not discuss my current developments at work, I saw this lovely jacquard that is such a close sibling to one of the fabrics I am working on that it stopped me in my tracks:

image

The fabric I am working on is called the Okura Jacquard, after the hotel of the same name in Tokyo, because the positive/negative spaces between the yarns remind me of the silhouette around the lights in the lobby:

image

And then my last stop was to look at swimsuit fabrics,  a new rabbit hole I am toying with going down….

image

Leave a Reply

