It’s okay guys, I got this one.

Excuse me for a moment while I do something uncivilized and welcome you into my closet. I am currently in a state of amazement! I just finished the last bit of my laundry and picked up my clothing from the dry cleaner this evening, and spent a minute hanging it all up in its rightful place. I thought I had collated all of my me-made clothing before the month started, however I didn’t quite accomplish it to the exact extent that I have today. I mean holy moly can you see what I am looking at here below??? Are you as impressed as I obviously am with myself??

Team Me-Made in the center with 41 items:

image

Team Retail on the right with a total of 21 items:

image

To think I actually wondered if I would make it through the month with enough outfits!  Granted there is a slight exaggeration at play – this photo doesn’t show the contents of my dresser which is full of store bought jeans, pants, t-shirts galore….

So anyway – on to today’s outfit,  brought to you by a special woman named Pat Mahoney.  Or actually two special women. The first is my friend Gretchen,  the woman behind http://www.blogforbettersewing.com who I know from our time teaching together in NYC.  If I ever grow a pair and quit my day job to do what I really want when I’m a grown-up,  she gets a lot of credit for being inspiring. 

So it was Gretchen who turned me on to Pat’s Custom Buttons & Belts of Lodi, CA.  You can call Pat and request a catalogue,  or write. That’s correct,  she has no website and conducts business by snail mail. Naturally I ordered my catalogue that way, by sending her a post card. Here’s the catalogue and order form she sends you so that you can mail her back your fabric and specs. Hand written no less!

image

Yes, you can buy a little kit at the fabric store to make your own buttons.  You could buy a belt that kinda goes with your dress. If you’re lucky to be in NYC you can get them done at Steinlauf & Stoller….but none of them will be like Pat’s. They’re more unique and her craftsmanship is like something from a bygone decade.

I was making this particular dress out of a yarn dyed check silk crepe, which is unusual for me to wear – I can’t stand to buy something with mismatched stripes or plaids and hardly ever sew them because they’re a total pain in the you-know-what to match. But, surprise! Here’s the final result of such tedious efforts:

image

image

When Gretchen saw me making this she asked me what kind of buttons I would be putting on the front of it. Now I’m not normally a stickler for details like buttons, zippers and the like. Something about the effort involved in making this dress however seemed to demand a little more attention. So I not only went for Pat’s custom buttons but also a matching belt….

image

….which I didn’t actually wear today.  Instead I went for this sort of dress-masquerading-as-a-shirt look that we seem to be championing at work these days.  Sometimes you have to give new things a try…. ok, I tried it and tomorrow we will be back to our regularly scheduled programming!

image

Leave a Reply

